Republicans

Phoebe

Republicans

Post by Phoebe »

I could have sworn there was a thread like this already but I could not find one. The occasion of this thread is that something really bad has happened to the Republican party. Today's example involves the questioning of Merrick Garland. Amazed that some of those people don't burst into flames spontaneously due to the brazenness of the hypocrisy.

Maybe the fall happened 40 years ago or 50 years ago. Maybe it was only 20 years ago, or 10. Maybe it was an incremental process. Whatever the timeline, the result is fundamentally untenable for decent people trying to live in a democracy.
Last edited by Phoebe on Fri Jan 06, 2023 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mike

Re: Republicans

Post by Mike »

I am no expert here, but a common theme I have heard is that the genesis of this for Republicans was the civil rights movement. Republicans could have chosen to support civil rights and court the black vote, but instead, they let JFK and the Democrats take that ground and decided to court the disaffected southern democrats to make up for it. This was all Nixon at the head of the party.

These narratives then go on to highlight the missed opportunities in later years when Republicans could have turned the corner and didn't. They always highlight Reagan's racist dog-whistles to otherize minorities and sow fear to curry votes. Sarah Palin is highlighted as bringing this mindset out into the open and idolizing it. And Trump is always the ultimate symptom/illustration of the worst of these tendencies.

Again, I'm no historian, but it rings true with my biases.
Any time the solution is "banjo rifle", I'm in 100%.
Stan

Post by Stan »